Delaware County has received approval from Ohio Tax Commissioner Jeffrey McClain and the Ohio Department of Taxation for an extension of property-tax payment deadlines in the county.

The deadline for real-property tax collections has been moved from July 10, 2020, to Aug. 20, 2020. The deadline for manufactured-home tax collections has been moved from Aug. 15, 2020, to Aug. 31, 2020.

County Treasurer Michael Ringle and County Auditor George Kaitsa spearheaded the initiative, which marked the second phase of economic-recovery assistance that Delaware County officials have developed for their residents and business owners due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Additionally, Ringle has announced that his office will not file new tax-lien foreclosures “until at least mid-2021 to enable taxpayers who fall behind on their payments for whatever reason to get back on their feet.”

If a taxpayer knows that, even with the deadline extension, they are unlikely to be able pay their second-half 2020 property taxes, they can avoid accruing late-payment penalties by submitting a Penalty Remission Application. This form can be found on the Treasurer’s Office website at or by calling the Treasurer’s Office at 740-833-2480.

Ringle also recommended that taxpayers with delinquencies should enter into payment contracts with his office to avoid having notices of delinquency published and to avoid the sale of a tax certificate on any delinquent amount.